Print this story

Stewart wins Naismith Trophy.

POSTED April 09, 2014
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

ATLANTA – University of Connecticut sophomore standout Breanna Stewart has been selected as the winner of the Naismith Trophy, presented by AT&T, as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club on Monday. 

Stewart not only became the sixth UConn player to win the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, but she joined some stellar company in becoming just the seventh player to win the Naismith Trophy in both high school and college.  Former Huskies star Maya Moore was the last to achieve that feat.

Stewart was announced as the award winner from among a field of finalists that included University of Notre Dame senior Kayla McBride, Stanford University senior Chiney Ogwumike and Baylor University senior Odyssey Sims.   UConn has won more Women’s Naismith Trophies than any other school – now with a total of eight, including seven times in the last 13 years.

“Having watched Breanna win the Naismith Trophy in high school, it’s no surprise that she’s dominating at the college level,” said Eric Oberman, Executive Director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club.  “And equally as impressive is the way she’s contributing to her team’s success – which reinforces her status as the ultimate team player.  We are excited to present her with another Naismith Trophy.”

"I am thrilled that Breanna has been selected as the winner off the Naismith Trophy,” head coach Geno Auriemma said.  “She worked extremely hard in the offseason to put herself in a position to have a great year and I know being selected for this prestigious honor, among this great group of finalists, is very rewarding for her."

Stewart was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s national voting academy.  Selections were based on individual performances throughout the 2013-14 women’s college basketball season, and the fan vote, which accounted for 25 percent of this year’s total.  This is the 10th year fans played a role in the selection process.  The vote was tabulated by the accounting, tax and business consulting firm Habif, Arogeti & Wynne, LLP. HA&W is a top 50 US accounting firm and a 2013 "Best of the Best" firm, as named by Inside Public Accounting.


  • Stewart has averaged 19.4 points, 8.1 assists, and 3.3 assists per game for the 39-0 Huskies.
  • Was named an American Athletic Conference Player of the Year and Associated Press Player of the Year
  • Scored her 1,000th career point in her 63rd career game, marking the third-fewest games to reach 1,000 points in UConn history.
  • Has scored in double-figures 36 times this season and 20+ points on 20 occasions.
  • Named the 2014 American Conference Tournament Most Outstanding Player and a member of the 2014 All-American Conference Tournament Team.

First created in 1983, Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan claimed the inaugural award.

“We want to congratulate Breanna for her fantastic season guiding the success of the UConn women’s basketball team,” said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “We’re proud to present the Naismith Trophy to an individual like Breanna, and applaud her for being the best player in women’s college basketball this season.”

Notable Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Maya Moore and last year’s winner, Brittney Griner, from Baylor University. 

The Naismith Women’s Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women’s college basketball player of the year.  For more information, visit

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here