Print this story

Napier, Dolson finalist in 2013/2014 Senior CLASS Awards.

POSTED February 12, 2014
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (Feb. 12, 2014) --- UConn senior basketball players Shabazz Napier (Roxbury, Mass.) and Stefanie Dolson (Port Jervis, N.Y.) have been selected as two of the 20 finalists for the 2013-14 Senior CLASS Awards, which recognize excellence in men’s and women’s college basketball on and off the court.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.  The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in October.

Napier, also on the final lists of the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, the John R. Wooden Award, the Oscar Robertson Trophy, and the James Naismith Award, currently leads the 18-5 Huskies in scoring, rebounding, assists, steals, and minutes played. He has been named the American Athletic Conference Player of the Week three times and to the league’s weekly Honor Roll seven times.

Off the court, he has been recognized with the Athletic Director High Five Award for academics and participated in numerous charitable events, including visits to the St. Elizabeth House Shelter in Hartford and the Connecticut Children’s Medical Center.

Dolson, a 2012-13 WBCA/State Farm All-America selection, is averaging 12.6 points and 9.3 rebounds for the Huskies this season.  She is second in the American Athletic Conference­­ in rebounds per game and third in field goal percentage at 56.4. The Port Jervis, N.Y. native has tallied 11 double-doubles and notched UConn first triple-double (26 points, 14 rebounds and 11 assists) since Laura Lishness in 1989.  Dolson, a 2013-14 Preseason American Athletic Conference First Team selection, enters the weekend only 37 rebounds shy of becoming only the fifth Husky al-time to accumulate 1,000 career rebounds. 

Off the court, Dolson and the Huskies have participated in several community service efforts, including the Walk for Autism, visiting the Connecticut Children’s Medical Center and helping to raise close to $50,000 to benefit the Kay Yow Cancer Fund. 

Two former Huskies have won the Senior Class Award; Sue Bird in 2002 and Maya Moore in 2011.

­Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through March 24. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

Men's Basketball Finalists

Aaron Craft, Ohio State

Tim Frazier, Penn State

Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State

Doug McDermott, Creighton

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut

Dwayne Evans, Saint Louis

Russ Smith, Louisville

C.J. Fair, Syracuse

Patric Young, Florida

Women's Basketball Finalists

Heather Butler, Tennessee-Martin

Natasha Howard, Florida State

Hallie Christofferson, Iowa State

Maggie Lucas, Penn State

Jerica Coley, Florida International

Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford

Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut

Haley Peters, Duke

Jordan Hooper, Nebraska

Odyssey Sims, Baylor

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here