Print this story

Hartley one of 19 in running for Sullivan Award.

POSTED March 11, 2014
BY Timothy W. Gaffney
Twitter: @TimothyGaffney

UConn senior Bria Hartley holds up her jersey during pre-game festivities. The Huskies beat Rutgers 72-35.

STORRS, Conn. - University of Connecticut women’s basketball standout Bria Hartley has been selected as one of 19 nominees for the James E. Sullivan Award, which honors the nation’s outstanding amateur athlete, as announced by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) on Tuesday, March 11.  Cast your vote for Bria at!  

Tuesday marks the first day of voting to find the winner of the 2013 AAU Sullivan Award. Voting is open to the public and will account for one-third of the athlete’s overall score.

The nominees were nominated by someone who thought they fit the requirements of outstanding athletic ability, strong character, leadership and sportsmanship. The public can cast their vote by going to

Voting will remain open until March 23rd at 11:59 EDT.

Hartley, a 2011-12 WBCA/State Farm All-America Team selection, has been honored as a First Team All-Conference selection twice and has earned a spot on the All-Conference Tournament Team on two occasions.  The 2011 Conference Rookie of the Year, Hartley has been named to the NCAA Tournament All-Regional Team twice and was selected to the All-NCAA Tournament Team in 2013.  Earlier this season, she became only the second Husky all-time, along with Diana Taurasi and Maya Moore, to post at least 1,500-points, 500-rebounds and 500-assists.  This year has been her finest as she ranks in the league’s top-five in scoring, assists, steals, three-point field goal percentage and assist-to-turnover ratio. 

Three finalists will be named no later than March 28th and the winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Friday, April 11 at the AAU National Headquarters in Orlando, Fla.

The Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930, and is based on character, leadership and sportsmanship. Notable recipients of the AAU Sullivan Award include: Mark Spitz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Joyner, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps, J.J. Redick, Tim Tebow, Shawn Johnson and Missy Franklin.

Nominees for the 2013 James E. Sullivan Award:

Ashley Bishop - Baton Twirling

Blake Bortles - University of Central Florida Football

David Boudia - USA Diving

Liz Brenner - Oregon Volleyball, Basketball, Track &Field

Rachel Fattal - USA Water Polo

Joy Woog-Garvey - Inline Hocke

Bria Hartley - University of Connecticut Women’s Basketball

Robert Herbst - AAU Powerlifting

Alex Johnson - University of Miami Volleyball

Katie Ledecky - Olympic Swimmer

Tre Mason - Auburn University Football

AJ McCarron - University of Alabama Football

Cory Ann McGee - University of Florida Track & Field

John Michael Nagel - Taekwondo 

Kelsey Robinson - University of Nebraska Volleyball

Jude Schimmel - University of Louisville Women’s Basketball

Shoni Schimmel - University of Louisville Women’s Basketball

John Urschel - Penn State Footbal

Alli Williams -Saint Francis University Women’s Basketball

For more from Timothy W. Gaffney click here